Olympic lifters reduce weight


Weightlifting is a heavy athletic sport in which a barbell is raised by snapping or pushing it. In addition to the technique, speed, strength, coordination and flexibility are particularly important for success in weightlifting. Although Olympic weightlifting can be classified as a marginal sport, the exercises can be found in the training program of many high-performance athletes, for example rowers, sprinters, bobsledders, skiers and now more and more soccer players, due to their optimal maximum and speed strength aspects.

Two movements are performed in competition: the snatch and the push. The athlete has three attempts for each exercise. The sum of the best attempt at snapping and the best attempt at pushing gives the final total. The athlete with the best overall Olympic duel result in his body weight class wins. Weightlifting is currently the only heavy athletic sport that is practiced at the Olympic Games. It is a universal sport with a complex training system of its own.

From the nineteenth century onwards, some strong men gained great fame and popularized the weights, particularly in Germany, Austria and France. Therefore, attempts were made to codify the weight and the movement in order to make the performance of the athletes comparable and to classify them. Weightlifting clubs sprang up in Germany in the early 1880s, but the first competition was held in London in 1887. The first European championship took place in Rotterdam in 1896. Weightlifting has been a part of the first modern Olympic Games, the 1896 Summer Games in Athens, Greece. Two disciplines were in the program at that time: one-armed and two-armed lifting. Absent from the 1900 Summer Olympics, weightlifting resumed at the 1904 Summer Olympics in St. Louis, USA.

During the 1920 Summer Olympics in Antwerp Belgium, the following exercises were performed: one-armed snatch, one-armed thrust and two-armed thrust. At the Olympic Games in 1924, these were replaced by a pentathlon, consisting of two-armed pushing, tearing, poking, and one-armed tearing and poking. After all, since 1972, pushing has been abandoned for two reasons: firstly, weightlifter "cheated" by dangerous backward leaning of the upper body with the risk of injury and secondly to reduce the duration of the competition.

The women's competitions go back to the 1980s and have been present in Sydney since the 2000 Summer Olympics. The first women's competitions were held in 1947 and the world championships opened their doors to women in 1986. The first weight classes appear in 1905. They are divided into eight classes for men and seven classes for women.

The barbell

The dumbbell itself weighs 20 kg for the men, has a length of 2.20 m and 28 mm in diameter, while the distance between the ball-bearing disc holders is 1.31 m. The women's dumbbell, on the other hand, weighs 15 kg, has a total length of 2.01 m and a diameter of 25 mm. The locks together weigh 5 kg. There are other dumbbells and so-called technical dumbbells of 7.5 and 10 kg for children and teenagers. The disc weights consist of: 25 kg (red), 20 kg (blue), 15 kg (yellow), 10 kg (green), 5 kg (white), 2.5 kg (red), 2 kg (blue), 1 , 5kg (yellow), 1kg (green) and 0.5kg (white).

Rules and technology

The experiments are carried out on a 4 x 4 m platform. If you leave the platform during the attempt, it becomes invalid. Competitions are held in the two disciplines of snatching and pushing.

Click here for the STRONGMOVE® Olympic Lifting Tutorials

Super User Main Category: BlogOlympic Lifting